



FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Dec. 4, 2014

Legendary Syracuse Coach Jim Boeheim to be honored as college basketball's Humanitarian of the Year

OKLAHOMA CITY – Jim Boeheim, who is entering his 39th season as the head coach of the Syracuse Orange, will top the list of NCAA men's basketball greats to be honored during the 2015 Devon Energy College Basketball Awards, hosted in Oklahoma City on April 14.

The focus of NCAA men's college basketball is squarely on Oklahoma City each spring as the Devon Energy Basketball Awards recognize the game's best. The event, held at the National Cowboy and Western Heritage Museum, includes the presentation of the Oscar Robertson Trophy for the National Player of the Year, the Henry Iba Coach of the Year Award and the Wayman Tisdale Freshman of the Year Award.

Boeheim will be honored with the Wayman Tisdale Humanitarian Award. Boeheim's resume boasts five conference tournament titles, seven regular-season titles and 31 trips to the NCAA Tournament with a national championship in 2003. He ranks second, behind only Duke Coach Mike Krzyzewski, in total wins (953). A champion of many charitable causes, Boeheim started the Jim and Juli Boeheim Foundation. He has lent his time to Coaches vs. Cancer, the Make-A-Wish Foundation, Special Olympics and the Children's Miracle Network, among others. Previous Humanitarian Award honorees include Krzyzewski, ESPN's Dick Vitale, Michigan State Coach Tom Izzo and Kansas Coach Bill Self.

Alan Marcum, Devon executive vice president of Administration, said Devon is proud to honor the legacy of Oklahoma Sooner great Wayman Tisdale, who was well known for his integrity and his commitment to excellence.

"It's always exciting to have the winners of these prestigious awards here in Oklahoma City on the same stage," Marcum said. "As an Oklahoma company, Devon is proud to have Oklahoma City playing center stage to the great sport of basketball. We're particularly grateful to continue honoring the legacy of Wayman Tisdale, who was an outstanding ambassador for Oklahoma and the game of basketball."

The Freshman and Player of the Year, as well as the Coach of the Year, are selected by members of the United States Basketball Writers Association (USBWA). Access Sports serves as the host for the Oklahoma City gala and selects the Humanitarian honoree. Funds raised through the gala are used to support youth basketball programs in Oklahoma that allow disadvantaged youth the opportunity to participate in leagues and training.

About Access Sports

Access Sports is an Oklahoma City-based 501(c)(3) non-profit charitable organization committed to supporting various charitable causes, including youth basketball programs throughout the state of Oklahoma through the Wayman's Lightning Basketball League. More information is available at www.access-sports.net.

About The United States Basketball Writers Association

Formed in 1956, The U. S. Basketball Writers Association is comprised of nearly 1,000 sports journalists who cover college basketball for newspapers, magazines and websites. More information can be found at www. usbwa.com.

###

CONTACT: Scott Hill

Executive Director Access Sports scott@access-sports.net

(405) 640-0406

Bill Webb Legacy Management bwebb@legacyfem.com (214) 205-7495