### ENJOY HOTEL BOOKING DISCOUNTS THRU THE USBWA | READ THE MARCH EDITION OF THE TIPOFF

**NEWS • AWARDS DIRECTORY • TIPOFF • JOIN US ABOUT US • FAQ • HOME** 

# USBWA AWARDS BREAKFAST ( Jeaturing a special tribute to "Phi Slama Jama" FRIDAY, APRIL 1, 8 A.M. 🖈 GEORGE R. BROWN CONVENTION CENTER 🖈 HOUSTON, TEXAS



Standout players and coaches chosen from nine regions

March 10, 2011 For Immediate Release Contact: Joe Mitch 314-444-4325



## **USBWA NAMES 2010-11** MEN'S ALL-DISTRICT TEAMS

ST. LOUIS (USBWA) - The U.S. Basketball Writers Association has released its 2010-11 Men's All-District Teams, based on voting from its national membership. There are nine regions from coast to coast and a player and coach of the year are selected in each. Following is the entire region-by-region listing:

### **DISTRICT I**

#### ME, VT, NH, RI, MA, CT PLAYER OF THE YEAR

Kemba Walker, Connecticut

COACH OF THE YEAR

Ed Cooley, Fairfield

### ALL-DISTRICT TEAM

Marshon Brooks, Providence Evan Fjeld, Vermont John Holland, Boston University Ken Horton, Central Connecticut St. Delroy James, Rhode Island Reggie Jackson, Boston College Greg Mangano, Yale Derek Needham, Fairfield Kemba Walker, Connecticut Keith Wright, Harvard

### DISTRICT IV

KY, TN MS, AL, GA, FL

PLAYER OF THE YEAR

Chandler Parsons, Florida

COACH OF THE YEAR

### Billy Donovan, Florida

### ALL-DISTRICT TEAM

Kenneth Faried, Morehead State JaMychal Green, Alabama Scotty Hopson, Tennessee John Jenkins, Vanderbilt Terrence Jones, Kentucky Brandon Knight, Kentucky Preston Knowles, Louisville Chandler Parsons, Florida Trey Thompkins, Georgia Chris Warren, Ole Miss

### **DISTRICT VII**

TX, AR, LA

PLAYER OF THE YEAR

Jordan Hamilton, Texas

COACH OF THE YEAR Rick Barnes, Texas

Tristan Thompson, Texas

### ALL-DISTRICT TEAM

Solomon Bozeman, UALR Rotnei Clarke, Arkansas Gilberto Clavell, Sam Houston State Randy Culpepper, UTEP LaceDarius Dunn, Baylor Jordan Hamilton, Texas Arsalan Kazemi, Rice Maurice McNeil, Houston Kris Middleton, Texas A&M

#### **DISTRICT II**

#### NY, NJ, DE, DC, PA, WV PLAYER OF THE YEAR

Dwight Hardy, St. John's

COACH OF THE YEAR

Steve Lavin, St. John's

#### ALL-DISTRICT TEAM

Talor Battle, Penn State Corey Fisher, Villanova Austin Freeman, Georgetown Ashton Gibbs, Pittsburgh Dwight Hardy, St. John's Rick Jackson, Syracuse Charles Jenkins, Hofstra C.J. McCollum, Lehigh Andrew Nicholson, St. Bonaventure Brad Wanamaker, Pittsburgh

### **DISTRICT V**

OH, IN, IL, MI, MN, WI PLAYER OF THE YEAR

JaJuan Johnson, Purdue

COACH OF THE YEAR

Matt Painter, Purdue

### ALL-DISTRICT TEAM

Norris Cole, Cleveland State Ben Hansbrough, Notre Dame Tu Holloway, Xavier Matt Howard, Butler JaJuan Johnson, Purdue Jon Leuer, Wisconsin Kalin Lucas, Michigan State Demetri McCamey, Illinois E'Twaun Moore, Purdue Jared Sullinger, Ohio State Jordan Taylor, Wisconsin

### **DISTRICT VIII**

WY, UT, ID, NM, CO, NV, MT

PLAYER OF THE YEAR

Jimmer Fredette, BYU

**COACH OF THE YEAR** Dave Rose, BYU

### ALL-DISTRICT TEAM

Devon Beitzel, Northern Colorado Alec Burks, Colorado Will Clyburn, Utah Jackson Emery, BYU Jimmer Fredette, BYU Jimmer Fredette, BYU
Dairese Gary, New Mexico
Cory Higgins, Colorado
Andy Ogide, Colorado State
Brian Qvale, Montana Tai Wesley, Utah State

#### **DISTRICT III** VA, NC, SC, MD

#### PLAYER OF THE YEAR

Nolan Smith, Duke

### COACH OF THE YEAR

Roy Williams, North Carolina

### ALL-DISTRICT TEAM

Jeff Allen, Virginia Tech Harrison Barnes, North Carolina Malcolm Delaney, Virginia Tech Andrew Goudelock, Charleston John Henson, North Carolina Cam Long, George Mason Kyle Singler, Duke Nolan Smith, Duke Jordan Williams, Maryland Tyler Zeller, North Carolina

### **DISTRICT VI**

IA, MO, KS, OK, NE, ND, SD

### PLAYER OF THE YEAR

Marcus Morris, Kansas

**COACH OF THE YEAR** 

Bill Self, Kansas

### ALL-DISTRICT TEAM

Marcus Denmon, Missouri Diante Garrett, Iowa State Justin Hurtt, Tulsa Lance Jeter, Nebraska Marcus Morris, Kansas Markieff Morris, Kansas Marshall Moses, Oklahoma State Jacob Pullen, Kansas State Kyle Weems, Missouri State Nate Wolters, South Dakota State

### **DISTRICT IX**

CA, OR, WA, HI, AZ, AK

PLAYER OF THE YEAR

Derrick Williams, Arizona

### **COACH OF THE YEAR**

Steve Fisher, San Diego State

### ALL-DISTRICT TEAM

Matthew Bryan-Amaning, Washington Jorge Gutierrez, California Kawhi Leonard, San Diego State Mickey McConnell, Saint Mary's Reeves Nelson, UCLA Isaiah Thomas, Washington Klay Thompson, Washington State Nikola Vucevic, USC Casper Ware, Long Beach State Derrick Williams, Arizona

The U.S. Basketball Writers Association was formed in 1956 at the urging of then-NCAA Executive Director Walter Byers. Today, it is one of the most influential organizations in college basketball. For more information on the USBWA and its All-District teams, contact executive director Joe Mitch at 314-421-0339.