

SEC Player of the Year a unanimous choice

March 22, 2010 For Immediate Release Contact: Joe Mitch 314-421-0339 .pdf version





KENTUCKY'S WALL IS 2009-10 USBWA NATIONAL FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR

ST. LOUIS (USBWA) - Kentucky guard John Wall has been selected National Freshman of the Year by the U.S. Basketball Writers Association for the 2009-10 season.

The 6-4, 195-pound Wall, from Raleigh, N.C., has averaged 16.8 points, 6.5 assists and 4.1 rebounds per game for the Wildcats. He is a first-team USBWA All-American as well as the Southeastern Conference Player of the Year and the USBWA District IV Player of the Year. He has led Kentucky into the East Regional with a 34-2 record that includes both the SEC Eastern Division championship and the SEC Tournament championship.

Wall was a unanimous choice in voting by USBWA members in all nine of the association's geographical districts for Freshman of the Year and was among 16 finalists for the Oscar Robertson Trophy, given to the USBWA's National Player of the Year. He is the just the second SEC player to win the USBWA's National Freshman of the Year award joining LSU's Chris Jackson, who was the first winner of the award in 1989.



Wall

"He's a deserving player by how he has led this team – an inexperienced team – and his ability to make plays when the game is in the balance," said Kentucky coach John Calipari. "I'm happy for him because he's as hard-working a player as any I've been around - on the court, in the weight room and in the classroom. This is a great honor for John to be recognized by the USBWA and another reflection of how our team success leads to individual accolades."

The U.S. Basketball Writers Association was formed in 1956 at the urging of then-NCAA Executive Director Walter Byers. Today, it is one of the most influential organizations in college basketball. For more information on the USBWA and its award programs, contact executive director Joe Mitch at 314-421-0339.

All-Time USBWA Freshmen of the Year:

1988-89 Chris Jackson, LSU 1989-90 Kenny Anderson, Georgia Tech 1990-91 Rodney Rogers, Wake Forest 1991-92 Chris Webber, Michigan 1992-93 Jason Kidd, California 1993-94 Joe Smith, Maryland 1994-95 None selected 1995-96 None selected 1996-97 None selected 1997-98 Larry Hughes, Saint Louis 1998-99 Quentin Richardson, DePaul

2000-01 Eddie Griffin, Seton Hall 2001-02 T.J. Ford, Texas 2002-03 Carmelo Anthony, Syracuse 2003-04 Luol Deng, Duke 2004-05 Marvin Williams, North Carolina 2005-06 Tyler Hansbrough, North Carolina 2006-07 Kevin Durant, Texas 2007-08 Michael Beasley, Kansas State 2008-09 Tyreke Evans, Memphis 2009-10 John Wall, Kentucky

1999-00 Jason Gardner, Arizona

Copyright 2010, U.S. Basketball Writers Association | www.sportswriters.net | Contact Us