

Standout players and coaches chosen from nine regions

March 9, 2010 For Immediate Release Contact: Joe Mitch 314-421-0339



USBWA NAMES 2009-10 MEN'S ALL-DISTRICT TEAMS

ST. LOUIS (USBWA) – The U.S. Basketball Writers Association has released its 2009-10 Men's All-District Teams, based on voting from its national membership. There are nine regions from coast to coast and a player and coach of the year are selected in each. Following is the entire region-by-region listing:

DISTRICT I

ME, VT, NH, RI, MA, CT

PLAYER OF THE YEAR

Jamine Peterson, Providence

COACH OF THE YEAR

Bill Coen, Northeastern

ALL-DISTRICT TEAM

Marqus Blakely, Vermont Keith Cothran, Rhode Island Jerome Dyson, Connecticut John Holland, Boston U. Matt Janning, Northeastern Jeremy Lin, Harvard Jamine Peterson, Providence Stanley Robinson, Connecticut Joe Trapani, Boston College Kemba Walker, Connecticut

DISTRICT IV

KY, TN MS, AL, GA, FL

PLAYER OF THE YEAR

John Wall, Kentucky

COACH OF THE YEAR

John Calipari, Kentucky

ALL-DISTRICT TEAM

Jermaine Beal, Vanderbilt Wayne Chism, Tennessee DeMarcus Cousins, Kentucky Dominique Jones, South Florida Patrick Patterson, Kentucky Trey Thompkins, Georgia Jarvis Varnado, Mississippi State John Wall, Kentucky Chris Warren, Ole Miss Elliot Williams, Memphis

DISTRICT VII

TX, AR, LA

PLAYER OF THE YEAR

Damion James, Texas

COACH OF THE YEAR

John Brady, Arkansas State

ALL-DISTRICT TEAM

Rotnei Clarke, Arkansas Gilberto Clavell, Sam Houston State Randy Culpepper, UTEP Damion James, Texas Tyren Johnson, Louisiana Lafayette Tasmin Mitchell, LSU Bradon Reed, Arkansas State Mike Singletary, Texas Tech Donald Sloan, Texas A&M Ekpe Udoh, Baylor

DISTRICT II

NY, NJ, DE, DC, PA, WV

PLAYER OF THE YEAR

Scottie Reynolds, Villanova

COACH OF THE YEAR

Jim Boeheim, Syracuse

ALL-DISTRICT TEAM

Lavoy Allen, Temple De'Sean Butler, West Virginia Austin Freeman, Georgetown Ashton Gibbs, Pittsburgh Jeremy Hazell, Seton Hall Wes Johnson, Syracuse Greg Monroe, Georgetown Andy Rautins, Syracuse Scottie Reynolds, Villanova Ryan Wittman, Cornell

DISTRICT V

OH, IN, IL, MI, MN, WI PLAYER OF THE YEAR

Evan Turner, Ohio State

COACH OF THE YEAR

Matt Painter, Purdue

ALL-DISTRICT TEAM

Jordan Crawford, Xavier Luke Harangody, Notre Dame Gordon Hayward, Butler Trevan Hughes, Wisconsin Robbie Hummel, Purdue JuJuan Johnson, Purdue Kalin Lucas, Michigan State Demetri McCamey, Illinois E'Twaun Moore, Purdue Evan Turner, Ohio State

DISTRICT VIII

WY, UT, ID, NM, CO, NV, MT

PLAYER OF THE YEAR

Jimmer Fredette, BYU

COACH OF THE YEAR

Steve Alford, New Mexico

ALL-DISTRICT TEAM

Luke Babbitt, Nevada Jackson Emery, BYU Jimmer Fredette, BYU Cory Higgins, Colorado Darington Hobson, New Mexico Damian Lillard, Weber State Roman Martinez, New Mexico Jared Quayle, Utah State Tre'von Willis, UNLV Jahman Young, New Mexico State

DISTRICT III

VA, NC, SC, MD

PLAYER OF THE YEAR

Greivis Vasquez, Maryland

COACH OF THE YEAR

Gary Williams, Maryland

ALL-DISTRICT TEAM

Al-Farouq Aminu, Wake Forest Trevor Booker, Clemson Malcolm Delaney, Virginia Tech Devan Downey, South Carolina Sylven Landesberg, Virginia Artsiom Parakhouski, Radford Jon Scheyer, Duke Kyle Singler, Duke Nolan Smith, Duke Greivis Vasquez, Maryland

DISTRICT VI

IA, MO, KS, OK, NE, ND, SD

PLAYER OF THE YEAR

James Anderson, Oklahoma State

COACH OF THE YEAR

Frank Martin, Kansas State

ALL-DISTRICT TEAM

Cole Aldrich, Kansas James Anderson, Oklahoma State Craig Brackins, Iowa State Denis Clemente, Kansas State Sherron Collins, Kansas Jordan Eglseder, Northern Iowa Kim English, Missouri Xavier Henry, Kansas Adam Koch, Northern Iowa Jacob Pullen, Kansas State

DISTRICT IX

CA, OR, WA, HI, AZ, AK

PLAYER OF THE YEAR

Jerome Randle, California

COACH OF THE YEAR

Herb Sendek, Arizona State

ALL-DISTRICT TEAM

Matt Bouldin, Gonzaga Patrick Christopher, California Landry Fields, Stanford Elias Harris, Gonzaga Kawhi Leonard, San Diego State Adrian Oliver, San Jose State Quincy Pondexter, Washington Jerome Randle, California Omar Samhan, Saint Mary's Klay Thompson, Washington State

The **U.S. Basketball Writers Association** was formed in 1956 at the urging of then-NCAA Executive Director Walter Byers. Today, it is one of the most influential organizations in college basketball. For more information on the USBWA and its All-District teams, contact executive director **Joe Mitch** at 314-421-0339.