

Standouts chosen from nine regions

# USBWA NAMES 2008-09 MEN'S ALL-DISTRICT TEAMS

ST. LOUIS (USBWA) – The U.S. Basketball Writers Association has released its 2008-09 Men's All-District Teams, based on voting from its national membership. There are nine regions from coast to coast and a player and coach of the year are selected in each. Following is the entire region-by-region listing:

## **DISTRICT I**

ME, VT, NH, RI, MA, CT

#### PLAYER OF THE YEAR

Hasheem Thabeet, Connecticut

## **COACH OF THE YEAR**

Jim Calhoun, Connecticut

#### ALL-DISTRICT TEAM

Jeff Adrien, Connecticut
Jimmy Baron, Rhode Island
Weyinmi Efejuku, Providence
Tony Gaffney, Massachusetts
Ricky Harris, Massachusetts
A.J. Price, Connecticut
Tyrese Rice, Boston College
Hasheem Thabeet, Connecticut
Joe Trapani, Boston College
Mike Trimboli, Vermont

#### **DISTRICT IV**

KY, TN MS, AL, GA, FL

# PLAYER OF THE YEAR

Jodie Meeks, Kentucky

# COACH OF THE YEAR

John Calipari, Memphis

# ALL-DISTRICT TEAM

Nick Calathes, Florida
Toney Douglas, Florida State
Tyreke Evans, Memphis
Lester Hudson, UT-Martin
Jack McClinton, Miami
Jodie Meeks, Kentucky
Tyler Smith, Tennessee
Jermaine Taylor, Central Florida
Jarvis Varnado, Mississippi State
Terrence Williams, Louisville

# **DISTRICT VII**

TX. AR. LA

# PLAYER OF THE YEAR

Marcus Thornton, LSU

# COACH OF THE YEAR

Trent Johnson, LSU

## ALL-DISTRICT TEAM

A.J. Abrams, Texas
Josh Carter, Texas A&M
Aubrey Coleman, Houston
Stefon Jackson, UTEP
Damion James, Texas
Curtis Jerrells, Baylor
Tasmin Mitchell, LSU
John Roberson, Texas Tech
Marcus Thornton, LSU
Michael Washington, Arkansas

# **DISTRICT II**

NY, NJ, DE, DC, PA, WV

# PLAYER OF THE YEAR

DeJuan Blair, Pittsburgh

# COACH OF THE YEAR

Jamie Dixon, Pittsburgh

#### **ALL-DISTRICT TEAM**

Talor Battle, Penn State DeJuan Blair, Pittsburgh DeSean Butler, West Virginia Dionte Christmas, Temple Dante Cunningham, Villanova Levance Fields, Pittsburgh Jonny Flynn, Syracuse Jeremy Hazell, Seton Hall Ahmad Nivins, Saint Joseph's Sam Young, Pittsburgh

#### **DISTRICT V**

OH, IN, IL, MI, MN, WI

# PLAYER OF THE YEAR

Jerel McNeal, Marquette

# COACH OF THE YEAR

Brad Stevens, Butler

#### ALL-DISTRICT TEAM

Mike Davis, Illinois Luke Harangody, Notre Dame Manny Harris, Michigan Matt Howard, Butler JaJuan Johnson, Purdue Kalin Lucas, Michigan State Robbie Hummel, Purdue Jerel McNeal, Marquette B.J. Raymond, Xavier Evan Turner, Ohio State

# **DISTRICT VIII**

WY, UT, ID, NM, CO, NV, MT

# PLAYER OF THE YEAR

Luke Nevill, Utah

# COACH OF THE YEAR

Stew Morrill, Utah State

## ALL-DISTRICT TEAM

Luke Babbitt, Nevada Lee Cummard, BYU Tony Danridge, New Mexico Brandon Ewing, Wyoming Jimmer Fredette, BYU Cory Higgins, Colorado Mac Hopson, Idaho Anthony Johnson, Montana Luke Nevill, Utah Gary Wilkinson, Utah State

#### **DISTRICT III**

VA, NC, SC, MD

#### PLAYER OF THE YEAR

Ty Lawson, North Carolina

#### COACH OF THE YEAR

Oliver Purnell, Clemson

#### **ALL-DISTRICT TEAM**

Trevor Booker, Clemson Stephen Curry, Davidson Devan Downey, South Carolina Tyler Hansbrough, North Carolina Gerald Henderson, Duke Ty Lawson, North Carolina Eric Maynor, VCU Kyle Singler, Duke Jeff Teague, Wake Greivis Vasquez, Maryland

#### **DISTRICT VI**

IA, MO, KS, OK, NE, ND, SD

# PLAYER OF THE YEAR

Blake Griffin, Oklahoma

## COACH OF THE YEAR

Bill Self, Kansas

# ALL-DISTRICT TEAM

Cole Aldrich, Kansas James Anderson, Oklahoma State Craig Brackens, Iowa State DeMarre Carroll, Missouri Denis Clemente, Kansas State Sherron Collins, Kansas Blake Griffin, Oklahoma Leo Lyons, Missouri Willie Warren, Oklahoma Ben Woodside, North Dakota State

# **DISTRICT IX**

CA, OR, WA, HI, AZ, AK

# PLAYER OF THE YEAR

James Harden, Arizona State

# COACH OF THE YEAR

Craig Robinson, Oregon State

## ALL-DISTRICT TEAM

James Harden, Arizona State John Bryant, Santa Clara Jon Brockman, Washington Darren Collison, UCLA Matt Bouldin, Gonzaga Patrick Christopher, California Jordan Hill, Arizona Jerome Randle, California Patty Mills, St. Mary's Chase Budinger, Arizona

The **U.S. Basketball Writers Association** was formed in 1956 at the urging of then-NCAA Executive Director Walter Byers. Today, it is one of the most influential organizations in college basketball. For more information on the USBWA and its All-District teams, contact executive director **Joe Mitch** and 314-421-0339.