

## NATIONAL COLLEGIATE BASEBALL WRITERS ASSOCIATION

(Feb. 14, 2019) ncbwa.com

Contact: Bo Carter (bcarter@footballfoundation.com); Tom Riordan (riordant@uncw.edu)

## KYLE PETERSON NAMED 44<sup>TH</sup> RECIPIENT OF THE NCBWA WILBUR SNYPP AWARD

DALLAS – Kyle Peterson, one of the most recognizable personalities among college baseball media through his work with ESPN, has been named as the 44th recipient of the prestigious Wilbur Snypp Award, presented annually by the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association for outstanding contributions to college baseball.

"Kyle Peterson epitomizes all the great things about college baseball," said NCBWA executive director Bo Carter. "He has been a scholar student-athlete at Stanford and Creighton Prep, standout collegiate pitcher on the field, Major League player and a wonderful proponent of college baseball and the game on every level. His accomplishments make him very deserving of this national honor from NCBWA."

Peterson, the leading figure in the re-launch of popular collegiate website D1Baseball.com in 2015, has been active in college diamond circles throughout the country since signing with Stanford as a top-flight pitching prospect in 1995 out of Omaha (Neb.) Creighton Prep.

He later was a first round draft selection of the Milwaukee Brewers and was Pacific-10 Conference Pitcher of the Year in 1997. The right-hander made his Major League debut in 1999 with the Brewers. Arm challenges forced the Elkhorn, Nebraska, native and former Omaha high school standout out of baseball in 2003.

That might have been a fateful career move for the personable Peterson as he joined the ESPN broadcast team in '03 and became a face personifying college baseball telecasts. His award-winning work has included the NCAA World Series, hundreds of regular-season MLB and college games, the MLB Playoffs (youngest analyst for these in ESPN history), and one of his favorite assignments – the annual Little League World Series in Williamsport, Pennsylvania.

Also along that path he has served on the Nebraska Make a Wish Foundation, the CWS of Omaha Organizing Committee and the Omaha Sports Commission. He has played an active role in the College Baseball Hall of Fame, as well as the NCAA World Series Hall of Fame.

"College baseball means the world to me," he said, "and I am honored to receive the Wilbur Snypp Award. The game of college baseball has given me so much over the course of my life. It's exciting to see its continued growth, and I look forward to witnessing that growth moving forward."

One of the most astute business people in the Midwest along with his baseball roles, he joined Colliers International in 2005 in the advisory services group and became President/CEO of the Nebraska office in 2013. He been involved in \$500 million-plus of investment sales and leasing transactions with special emphasis on sales and leasing of commercial office and investment properties.

Peterson reflected on his decades of baseball experience and coverage this week after being informed that he was the 2018 Snypp Award recipient.

The 2006 Colliers International Rookie of the Year also received the 2009 Colliers Broker of the Year and was named to the 2009 Midlands Business Journal's 40 under 40 group.

Peterson is the latest to join the ranks of Wilbur Snypp Award winners, national journalists and college administrators as the 2018 winner. The honor memorializes longtime Ohio State sports information director and NCBWA founder, the late Wilbur (Bill) Snypp. Snypp was a noted contributor to the writers' organization, which was initiated in 1962, as well as an officer in the group. The Wilbur Snypp Award yearly honors a professional for contributions to the sport of college baseball. Voting is conducted by a panel of previous winners, who include past NCAA College World Series directors, College Sports Information Directors of America Hall of Fame members, decorated media members, and others.

## Past Wilbur Snypp Award Winners

- 1975 Wilbur Snypp, Ohio State
- 1976 Bill Esposito, St. John's
- 1977 Phil Langan, Cornell
- 1978 John Geis, Southern Conference
- 1979 Hank Schomber, Georgia Southern
- 1980 Bob Culp, Western Michigan
- 1981 Lou Pavlovich, Sr., Collegiate Baseball
- 1982 Tom Price, South Carolina
- 1983 Bob Bradley, Clemson
- 1984 Robert Williams, Omaha World-Herald
- 1985 Jerry Miles, NCAA
- 1986 Larry Keefe, Seton Hall
- 1987 Tom Rowen, San Jose Mercury-News
- 1988 Fred Gerardi, KESY Radio, Omaha
- 1989 Jim Wright, NCAA
- 1990 Steve Weller, SIU-Edwardsville
- 1991 Bill Little, University of Texas
- 1992 Kirk Bohls, Austin American-Statesman
- 1993 Bo Carter, Southwest Conference
- 1994 Lou Pavlovich, Jr., Collegiate Baseball
- 1995 Steve Pivovar, Omaha World-Herald
- 1996 Gary Johnson, NCAA
- 1997 Dave Wohlhueter, Cornell
- 1998 Allan Simpson, Baseball America
- 1999 Alan Cannon, Texas A&M
- 2000 Jim Callis, Baseball America
- 2001 Dick Case, USA Baseball
- 2002 Russ Anderson, Conference USA
- John Manuel, Baseball America
- 2004 Dana Heiss Grodin, USA TODAY Sports Weekly
- 2005 Dennis Poppe, NCAA
- 2006 Mike Montoro, Southern Miss
- 2007 Barry Allen, Alabama
- 2008 Mike Patrick, ESPN
- 2009 Al Chase, Honolulu Star-Bulletin
- 2010 Lou Spry, NCAA
- 2011 Jeremy Mills, ESPN/D1Baseball.com
- 2012 Eric Olson, Associated Press
- 2013 J.D. Hamilton, NCAA
- John Sullivan, Rice
- 2015 David Feaster, Dick Howser Trophy
- 2016 Ralph Zobell, BYU
- 2017 Aaron Fitt, D1Baseball.com/Baseball America
- 2018 Kyle Peterson, ESPN