FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Orange Bowl Committee Nov. 14, 2018



Jardin May jmay@orangebowl.org 305-341-4785

Cortland's Kyle Richard named latest 2018 Capital One Orange Bowl-FWAA Courage Award Nominee



MIAMI LAKES, FL. (<u>www.orangebowl.org</u>) Cortland's Kyle Richard is this week's nominee for the 2018 Capital One Orange Bowl-FWAA Courage Award. Richard, a senior linebacker, was shot twice in the summer of 2017 after interrupting a sexual assault.

"I realize that people do want to hear my voice," Richard said during a dating violence awareness event in the spring. "I have support from my whole football team. I have 100 guys supporting me through this, so that's made it easy for me. But it's still not an easy topic to talk about. It is a tough topic but we need somebody to talk about it, especially from a male perspective."

Richard, along with a friend, pursued an assailant outside of a party on Long Island in July of 2017. The assailant pulled out a gun and shot at Richard three times, hitting him once in each leg. The 6-foot, 230-pound Lakeview, N.Y., native underwent intensive physical therapy and was able to return to the field and appear in 10 games that season, finishing second on the team with 75 tackles, along with 4.5 tackles for loss, three sacks, two fumble recoveries, nine quarterback hurries and two pass breakups.

The two-time captain finished the 7-3 Red Dragons' season this fall tied for the team lead in tackles, with 71, to go with seven tackles for loss, 1.5 sacks, one interception, two pass breakups, three passes defended, four quarterback hurries, one fumble recovery and one safety.

---MORE----

In April, Richard was presented with the Biden Courage Award for Bystander Intervention by former Vice President Joe Biden. Additionally, Richard has received a thank you note from NFL commissioner Roger Goodell.

Richard has become an outspoken advocate for victims of sexual assault, speaking at a number of awareness events, deflecting personal attention while hoping that others follow his example and step up when presented with an opportunity to act.

The Courage Award was first presented by the Football Writers Association of America (FWAA) in 2002. A select group of writers from the FWAA vote on the winner each year. The requirements for nomination include displaying courage on or off the field, including overcoming an injury or physical handicap, preventing a disaster or living through hardship. The winner of the award will be included in festivities during Capital One Orange Bowl week and receive his trophy at an on-field presentation.

Previous Winners of the Capital One Orange Bowl-FWAA Courage Award

2017 D'Cota Dixon - Wisconsin
2016 James Conner – Pittsburgh
2015 Hunter Knighton - Miami
2014 Laken Tomlinson - Duke
2013 Anthony Larceval - San Jose State
2012 Daniel Rodriguez - Clemson
2011 Arthur Ray - Michigan State
2010 Eric LeGrand - Rutgers

2009 University of Connecticut Football Team
2008 Wilson Holloway - Tulsa
2007 Zerbin Singleton - Navy
2006 Ray Ray McElrathbey - Clemson
2005 Tulane Football Team
2004 Haracia Colen - Memphis
2003 Neil Parry - San Jose State
2002 William Bratton – Toledo

2018 Orange Bowl Courage Award Nominees

- Sept. 12: John Schlarman, Kentucky | High-resolution headshot
- Sept. 19: Nic Weishar, Notre Dame | High-resolution headshot
- Sept. 26: Rex Culpepper, Syracuse | High-resolution headshot
- Oct. 3: Caleb Farley, Virginia Tech | High-resolution headshot
- Oct. 10: Antwan Dixon, Kent State | High-resolution headshot
- Oct. 17: Marquez Stevenson, Houston | High-resolution headshot
- Oct. 24: Janarius Robinson, Florida State | High-resolution headshot
- Oct. 24: Tre Brown, Oklahoma | High-resolution headshot
- Nov. 7: Matt Stauder, Indiana | High-resolution headshot

Related link:

Capital One Orange Bowl Courage Award

About the Orange Bowl

The Orange Bowl is a 360-member, primarily-volunteer non-profit sports organization that promotes and serves the South Florida community. With its primary mission since being created in 1935 to bring tourism to South Florida through an annual football game and events, it has also maintained a legacy of charitable contributions and community outreach. Orange Bowl community outreach efforts are comprised of four pillars: youth sports, fundraising and community events, academic programs and scholarships, and legacy gifts. The Orange Bowl features a year-round schedule of events culminating with the College Football Playoff Semifinal at the Capital One Orange Bowl on December 29, 2018. For more information on the 2018-2019 Orange Bowl events, including promotional and volunteer opportunities through the Ambassador Program presented by Panera Bread, log on to <u>www.orangebowl.org</u> or follow the @OrangeBowl on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, YouTube and Snapchat.

About FWAA

Founded in 1941, the **Football Writers Association of America** consists of 1,400 men and women who cover college football. The membership includes journalists, broadcasters and publicists, as well as key executives in all the areas that involve the game. The FWAA works to govern areas that include gameday operations, major awards and its annual All-America team. For more information about the FWAA and its award programs, contact Steve Richardson at <u>tiger@fwaa.com</u>.

###